Skip to content

I Want One!

June 18, 2010

Gardeners are always on the lookout for a new and exciting plant to put in their own gardens. A new variety, new color, something with more petals or even something with an different height than most. Basically we want anything new and out of the ordinary. Even on the way to the grocery store or visiting friends, we’re checking out what others are doing with their landscaping.

When I find something new I use any means necessary to record my new find – usually, my cell phone. I use it to take pictures as well as to text myself information about each plant I find. I record things like: is it in the sun or shade, how tall is it, and if I’m lucky enough to find out, its name. Even common names can be helpful in locating a source for later purchase.

Keeping these records helps me to not only learn about new plants, but to grow my own personal garden with new and exciting finds. Remember, opportunities can be found everywhere. While Busch Gardens is a great way to experience a wide variety of plants, don’t overlook your neighbor’s backyard. Your new favorite flower could be right under your nose.

If you are looking for a crash course about the plants and landscape at Busch Gardens, make sure to check out our Gardening Insider tour. You’ll get a chance to explore our Habitat Garden and learn about each and every plant there. Want tips on what to plant in your own garden? Want to know what that pretty flower is and where you can find your own? This is what the tour is all about. It’s for plant lovers like me who want to keep finding out the newest and most exciting plants for their garden. But remember to bring a notepad, or in my case, a cell phone. See you there.

Shelia
Landscaper at Busch Gardens

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

