Skip to content

Meet our Blogger – Cynthia Lyon

April 29, 2010

Hello, my name is Cynthia. I am the Park Operations Manager at Water Country USA. This year will be my 18th season with Busch Gardens, but my first year at Water Country USA. I started working at Busch Gardens in 1993 as an Area Host/Ride Operator in Grimm’s Hollow. From there, I continued to move up into different leadership positions throughout high school and college. In May 1999, I graduated from Christopher Newport University and was lucky enough to be offered a full-time position in December of that year. Recently I have returned to school to pursue my Masters in Business.

When I applied to college I wanted a career in the FBI. However, by the time I started at CNU, I knew Busch Gardens was where I belonged. I loved the people I worked with and the people I met in the park. What an amazing opportunity to be active, outside and see people of all ages having fun. I have had the opportunity to meet people from all over the world.

I am the mother of two wonderful boys, two and five years old. I think being a mom has allowed me to be a better manager in the park, because I have a better understanding of what parents and children are experiencing.

During my time at Busch Gardens I have held various positions in the operations group including all four areas of the park and Guest Arrival. I also had the opportunity to start our Internship Program and our behind-the-scenes tour program. This year I have the unique opportunity of switching parks and learning a new side of our company. I can’t wait for the summer to be here and Water Country USA to open for the season. We will learn together. See you May 22.

Cynthia
Park Operations Manager at Water Country USA

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jordan Ford permalink
    May 2, 2010 8:35 am

    Wow! This is exactly what I want to do when I get older.. Start out low then become higher and higher! I want to be general manager of Busch Garens one day! Thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

