Skip to content

Meet our blogger – Rob

March 8, 2010

Hello. My name is Rob and I am one of four Park Operations Managers at Busch Gardens in Williamsburg, Va. I am very excited to begin my 11th season here at the park. I worked as a Ride Operator at Alpengeist while I was a junior in high school. I knew after one season of working at a theme park that I wanted to make a career out of, what was then, my summer job.

I attended James Madison University and graduated in 2005 with a degree in Recreation Management, while also focusing on Human Resources Development and Kinesiology. I continued to work at Busch Gardens while attending college and was fortunate enough to be promoted to Operations Manager in the summer of 2006.

I truly can not imagine doing anything else for a career. I am able to meet people from all over the world, both employees and guests, and everyday is different. I am able to work in a place where people go to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It is a fantastic place and I am so grateful to be a part of this team.

Throughout my time at Busch Gardens, specifically as an Operations Manager, I have been able to work on some exciting projects. I oversaw the opening of Griffon and its operation in its first two years, have overseen the Ride Accessibility Program for our guests with disabilities since 2006, and I am now responsible for the many of our behind-the-scenes tours and Quick Queue programs at the park. I am very excited to be a ‘blogger’ for the park this year. Say ‘Hi’ if you see me out in the park.

Rob
Park Operations Manager at Busch Gardens

4 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    March 8, 2010 8:56 am

    Welcome, Rob. What a dream job! In my career, I also got a job in the field I started pursuing while in college at James Madison University (Class of ’92).

    Maybe I’ll meet you some day while on one of the behind-the-scenes tours, if you ever help as one of the tour guides. I’ve been wanting to do the coaster tour.

  2. March 8, 2010 7:56 pm

    I would like to say a big thank you to all of those who are involved with putting together a blog for the park. Awesome customer service.

    Rob, congratulations on your new job and for making it 11 years! I enjoyed reading your introduction and your enthusiasm is catching. Sounds like you will be an inspiration for all those young aspiring park managers out there.

    By the way, I’ll more than likely see you on one of my many treks around the park. If so, I’ll shout a quick hello.

    By the way, I am looking forward to taking advantage of some behind the scenes tours this year. Busch Gardens has really done their visitors a great service by allowing us “park gurus” to see what it like behind those infamous “Employee Only” gates.

    I really hope all goes well for you and the park this year.

    Best Wishes for a great 2010 season!

    Nora Marien

  3. Marcus permalink
    March 13, 2010 6:03 pm

    I will say hello to you in the park and I will make sure that I tell all my friends and relatives to tell you hello as well!

  4. Angelique permalink
    March 13, 2010 6:08 pm

    I have seen you in the park and I feel like I am now getting to know you a little bit better through this blog! I can hardly wait to read what you write next.

Leave a Reply

