Skip to content

It’s Showtime

March 6, 2010

Hello everyone. I’m Phil Raybourn, the Senior Manager for Show Production in Entertainment, and I’ll be blogging about Busch Gardens throughout the year. I’ll be telling you exciting and interesting tidbits about the Entertainment Department and what we have in store for you in 2010.

I started working here six years ago as a stage manager for the “Irish Thunder” show. Now, I am part of the production team for all of the shows you see in the park as well as the Producer for the Howl-O-Scream event that we offer each year. Currently I am working on the new “Celtic Fyre” show and getting ready to direct that in collaboration with our Irish choreographer, Marcus Maloney, who will be coming in fresh from his tour with “Riverdance.” We are very excited about Celtic Fyre. I am thrilled to be able to share with you an insider’s perspective about our Entertainment Department, and I look forward to answering questions from you as well. It’s going to be a great year for us and I’m glad we get to share it with you here and in the park.

Phil
Entertainment Manager at Busch Gardens

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea Chestney permalink
    March 6, 2010 1:28 pm

    Are you all doing Glory in the Gardens again this year? If so can you tell us the dates and artists scheduled to appear? I am particularly wanting to know if Revive will be back? Thanks for the help!

    • March 7, 2010 12:10 pm

      Hi. You can go to this website http://www.buschgardens.com/Bgw/CP/?page=GATG to check out the Glory at the Gardens for this year schedule. I can’t believe they got Kirk Franklin and Kierra Sheard OMG!!! I can’t wait I am so excited. There will be performances from Christian bands every Sunday in June. Hope this helps.

  2. Scott permalink
    March 6, 2010 5:54 pm

    Phil! The shows are what set Busch Gardens apart…well, one of the many things. Looking forward to the new Celtic Fyre show, and hoping we can get another Irish themed show in the Castle O’Sullivan (PLEASE).

  3. March 8, 2010 8:07 am

    I’m a production coordinator for a large church in NC. I love to see new ways people are using production elements to enhance a show. i’m sure I’ll enjoy it!

  4. Bryan permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    Phil,
    I’m a student in high school really interested in the behind the scenes work that goes on at a show. At each and every production hosted at my school, you can find me back in the sound booth running lights and sound. Is there any sort of backstage program/ tour that allows guests to see what makes the magic come to life?

    Thanks,
    Bryan

Leave a Reply

